Recent thoughts..

My holidays were so wonderful and relaxing! I got to go back to Kansas City and spend some time with my parents, sister and brother in law and grandparents! I got to see some sweet high school friends and really rest. I came back and worked a few days and then joined some sweet friends in Jackson for a wedding! After all of those travels and friend and family time, I was ready to get back to the real work world.

We had a snow day today in Alabama. No one went to work. Or school. I have greatly enjoyed the unexpected day of rest.

Tomorrow my mom comes! I’m really ready for her to be in my world and for us to have fun here! The Lord knew that I would need some mom time right about now. We’ll also get to see Stephanie and Megan (roommates) this weekend! I wish Emily (the other roommate!) could join us, too, but she’ll be wishing Alicia a happy wedding weekend.

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about having balance in my life and truly finding my identity in Christ and my greatest satisfaction in Him. I’ve found that it has been very easy since moving here to wrap my identity in my job and ministry. While there is a luxury in my singleness and the freedom it brings with students and time, I’m still a 22 (almost 23!) year old girl with a life outside of that. I’m continuing to think about the lines that need to be drawn between these 2 parts of me, or if there’s supposed to be lines, or where they’re suppose to go, etc. I’m trying to be thoughtful and intentional with my time… but to avoid “burnout” (is that even a real thing?!) and make sure I’m refreshing myself, too. All of that to say, I feel like I am a completely different person today than I was 7 1/2 months ago when I graduated from Union, but I am far from having it figured out.

2 Corinthians 4:5 – “For what we proclaim is not ourselves, but Jesus Christ as Lord, with ourselves as your servants for Jesus’ sake.”

About theshadyladies

I recently moved to Birmingham to do high school girls ministry. I love sports, especially Kansas. I love to travel and pray for the opportunity to do it more! I am originally from Kansas City, but Jackson, Tennessee stole my heart. I love to sleep and to read. I am completely in love with the Gospel and the One whose story it tells. My mom is my best friend. I absolutely love my job and the girls with whom I spend my days!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Recent thoughts..

  1. msK says:

    Know you will enjoy your Mom Time…she is a wonderful person. Sorry I did not get to see you but also know that when you “go home” you just want to see family. Have a super New Year. love you, msK

Leave a comment