Fall fall fall.

Sorry that it’s been a little while! Things have been so busy.

This past weekend I went back to Jackson, TN for the first time since early summer. It was SO wonderful to see so many friends and to revisit a place that taught me so much! It was really hard to leave. Everyone had told me that there would be some kind of emotional letdown after college, but I hadn’t gotten there yet. Things at Shades had been so busy and had just taken off since I started in June that I guess I hadn’t really thought about it. But a good, soothing, tearful drive does wonders for the heart. Mrs. Vicki told me that maybe it’s because Jackson feels like home and Birmingham feels like the real world, and I think she’s right. I absolutely LOVE Birmingham and am so sure that this is where I’m supposed to be, but I spent a lot of time investing in a lot of people in Jackson. So, needless to say, I’m ready for all my friends to graduate so that I’m not quite so attached. BAH!

This weekend my parents and grandparents are coming to town! I’m so excited to see them and show my grandparents my Birmingham world! My dad and I are going to the biggest high school football game of the year. Hoover v. Vestavia. It’ll be an exciting evening for sure.

I can’t believe it’s October. I can’t believe that it was 90 degrees today. Thank you, Birmingham.

But I can believe that the Colts beat the Chiefs. Love you, Peyton.

And I’m loving an Alabama football fall, but I’m SO READY for Kansas basketball.

About theshadyladies

I recently moved to Birmingham to do high school girls ministry. I love sports, especially Kansas. I love to travel and pray for the opportunity to do it more! I am originally from Kansas City, but Jackson, Tennessee stole my heart. I love to sleep and to read. I am completely in love with the Gospel and the One whose story it tells. My mom is my best friend. I absolutely love my job and the girls with whom I spend my days!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fall fall fall.

  1. Kay says:

    Know you will enjoy your parents and grandparents. Did you breeze thru Memphis and see Nancy? I seem to miss her every time she’s in town. I can’t blieve ” the pony people beat the Cheifs either! Luck. Love you, msK

  2. Jamie says:

    GiRlFrIeNd: Miss you crazy-like. Wish you could have been at Jadyn’s birthday party. We had so much fun! Can you believe she is 2? Will you please please please post a blog update after your visitors? I can’t wait to hear how everyone is doing and/or behaving! 🙂 I had some pictures printed for you – I will mail them when I get them! Love you bunches!!

  3. Marti says:

    Love you. Glad to hear you’re adapting to your new culture but not entirely surrendered. I can’t see you giving up the Jayhawks anytime soon!

    But I can see you soon for our annual date. And I will.

  4. Kari and Nate says:

    Kris-
    I had some good friends grow up in Vestavia Hills. Very nice area! I hope the game was fun! I like stalking you on your blog. Be on the lookout for a new blog for the Bock family very, very soon…..
    🙂

  5. Kaylie says:

    Didn’t know you had a blog! But now I will relentlessly post comments and stalk your life 🙂 So glad we’re friends.

Leave a Reply

