What I pray for my girls…

The ultimate intent of this blog was to  keep people updated on what they could pray for about my girls and my ministry here…

Here are the 2 things I pray for my girls…

1. They will understand that nothing they do can make God love them more or less.

2. They will learn now that Christ MUST be the most important thing in their lives.

Probably in the last 5 years, these two truths have been the most transformational in my life. I remember learning for the first time that God doesn’t have a secret checklist in heaven where He tracks our Bible reading and giving. Of course, He always knows, but it doesn’t affect His love for us. He sees my sin from day to day, but loves me just the same. I look back and see the glaring, dark periods of struggle as “separation” from God, while His love for me has never once waivered. There is such beauty in our Creator’s love for us. It is unconditional and unchanging. There is such freedom in following Christ!  

While I was at Union, I understood for the first time the centrality of the Gospel to my life. I learned to preach the Gospel to myself, and the importance of the spoken Gospel to believers. Because of this perspective shift, Christ had to be the most important thing. No longer could I cheapen the Gospel or His grace by living to please myself or others. I had to desire Him more than anything else.

I long to impart the final product of the journies I took on my girls without them having to hurt. But you and I both know that some of the greatest pains in our lives are the times we have learned to love Christ the most.

About theshadyladies

I recently moved to Birmingham to do high school girls ministry. I love sports, especially Kansas. I love to travel and pray for the opportunity to do it more! I am originally from Kansas City, but Jackson, Tennessee stole my heart. I love to sleep and to read. I am completely in love with the Gospel and the One whose story it tells. My mom is my best friend. I absolutely love my job and the girls with whom I spend my days!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What I pray for my girls…

  1. Marti says:

    I’ve heard you pray these things for your girls.
    I’ve seen you live them in your life.

    I join you in these prayers and this love!

Leave a Reply

