Things to learn…

September 1 marked 3 months here. I made it! But it has totally flown by.. here are a few things I’ve learned…

1. Life in the fall here revolves entirely around football. What else could there be to do on a Friday night?

2. Being a big kid really just means paying for things yourself and having to solve problems on your own. BOOOO.

3. High school kids have no clear thought process for how old someone is. I’ve been called 26.

4. A sweet student let me know that I was here to “find my mate.”

5. I had wonderful parents that prepared me perfectly for being on my own.

6. I MISS UNION! It was a great place for me, and I’m more thankful for it now.

7. The Gospel is the bottom line. Nothing else matters. Learning how to be faithful to that in whatever context I find myself is the most important thing.

8. Birmingham is a bubble. and such a unique bubble. Southern people are different.

9. Getting up every morning for a full-time job is HARD.

10. My body still thinks I’m on a collegiate sleeping schedule.

11. Discipline never gets easier.

And i’m ending on an awkward number.

The End.

About theshadyladies

I recently moved to Birmingham to do high school girls ministry. I love sports, especially Kansas. I love to travel and pray for the opportunity to do it more! I am originally from Kansas City, but Jackson, Tennessee stole my heart. I love to sleep and to read. I am completely in love with the Gospel and the One whose story it tells. My mom is my best friend. I absolutely love my job and the girls with whom I spend my days!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Things to learn…

  1. Alicia says:

    thanks for the updates 🙂
    i love reading them.
    keep ’em coming.
    i miss you.

  2. Jamie says:

    Number 3 made me laugh. Welcome to my world.

  3. Kari says:

    You’re such an old woman now……LOL!

  4. Kay says:

    I’m feeling older because it’s hard to read black on black! You are so funny! You still look 18 to me! love ya, msK

  5. Megan says:

    I agree that getting up for a real job is hard. Don’t you wish that Stephanie still lived with you so that she could help with that? I do.

Leave a Reply

