Learning to be faithful..

Well. Sorry it’s been a little bit. The summer has wrapped up quite nicely! This weekend was filled with a visit from my mom and sister. We had a ball! It was a little strange that they both came to visit me here… and they left me here.. and I’m not going back to school. So strange.

The following I stole from the Mahaney women’s blog. I love reading their blog and this was specifically meaningful to me this week.

::There are few times I feel less spiritual than when I face physical and hormonal challenges such as PMS and (now) menopause. I feel tired and irritable, my sin sometimes spilling over onto those around me.

My strategy has often been to try and wait it out. Once this is over, I tell myself, then I’ll get back to making progress in the Christian life. I forget that I am smack in the middle of God’s plan for my life! God has ordained these hormonal days along with all the others! Menopause isn’t simply a trial to get through. It’s an opportunity for testing faith and spiritual growth.

Elizabeth Prentiss beautifully expresses this point:

“God never place us in any position in which we can not grow. We may fancy that He does. We may fear we are so impeded by fretting, petty cares that we are gaining nothing; but when we are not sending any branches upward, we may be sending roots downward. Perhaps in the time of our humiliation, when everything seems a failure, we are making the best kind of progress.”

The best kind of progress. Far from precipitating a spiritual decline, we often growmore in these difficult seasons than when life is easy, and we feel like we’re flourishing (remember, those feelings can’t be trusted!)

That’s why the apostle Paul sees weakness as an opportunity for boasting in the Lord:

“But [God] said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong” (2 Corinthians 12:9-10).

For the sake of Christ, we are to boast in our weaknesses, we are to be content in menopause or PMS or postpartum depression. For when we are weak, it is then that His power rests on us. What an opportunity!::

My biggest struggle so far has been learning to be faithful to the Gospel in this new context. There is no lag time, no waiting period. The Lord is always working and always working to accomplish His plan, which means my idle by standing is in essence disobedience. May we all learn more of what it means to be faithful to the truth and to our Savior.

PS. I want to be a character on Criminal Minds. If you hear of any openings, let me know.

About theshadyladies

I recently moved to Birmingham to do high school girls ministry. I love sports, especially Kansas. I love to travel and pray for the opportunity to do it more! I am originally from Kansas City, but Jackson, Tennessee stole my heart. I love to sleep and to read. I am completely in love with the Gospel and the One whose story it tells. My mom is my best friend. I absolutely love my job and the girls with whom I spend my days!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Learning to be faithful..

  1. Kay says:

    You are so funny! Menopause? Ha! You are way too young. Also, what’s with the Criminal Minds thingie? I was addicted to the program! Not good for when you are alone … think Satan has a way of making us fearful and that show definitely added to my fears when I am alone.
    Just stay faithful to your calling to young ladies … you are definitely in the middle of the Lord’s Will … Love you lots! msK

Leave a Reply

